Sillbird R121 vs R218: which solar robot kit fits?

Compare two age-8+ Sillbird solar kits: the R121’s lower price and 12 listed builds against the R218’s 15 forms and conflicting piece count.

Robot Current may earn a commission from qualifying purchases through affiliate links. How this works.

Sillbird STEM Solar Robot R121

Sillbird STEM Solar Robot R121

Builders aged 8+ who enjoy assembling a small robot, trying its power options and reconfiguring it for another build

Reader code estimatePotential saving $1.25
Sillbird STEM Solar Robot R121
Current listed price$24.99
Estimated with code$23.74
Official price checked Oct 21, 2026. Estimate before tax and shipping if code CURRENT applies to this item. Your checkout total is final. The official feed lists Gray, Blue and Purple variants at $24.99; all three were listed available on October 21, 2026. Code CURRENT gives a conditional $23.74 estimate if eligible.Visit the Sillbird store
Shop with codeOffer terms & statusPaste the code at checkout and check your total.
Read the full review
Sillbird STEM Solar Robot R218

Sillbird STEM Solar Robot R218

Builders aged 8+ who want an affordable, screen-free solar project and enjoy rebuilding one parts set into different machines

Reader code estimatePotential saving $1.40
Sillbird STEM Solar Robot R218
Current listed price$27.99
Estimated with code$26.59
Official price checked Oct 17, 2026. Estimate before tax and shipping if code CURRENT applies to this item. Your checkout total is final. The purple US variant was listed at $27.99; the conditional code estimate is $26.59 if eligible.Visit the Sillbird store
Shop with codeOffer terms & statusPaste the code at checkout and check your total.
Read the full review

The quick answer

Choose the R121 at $24.99 when a clearly stated 190-piece kit and 12 build options suit the project. Choose the R218 at $27.99 if the additional advertised models appeal and you can confirm its box contents: its main specification says 212 pieces while a lower panel says fewer than 100. Both list solar and battery modes and a one-to-two-hour build estimate; the R121 page does not identify its battery or confirm inclusion.

Exact model comparison
Buying detailSTEM Solar Robot R121STEM Solar Robot R218
Best fitBuilders aged 8+ who enjoy assembling a small robot, trying its power options and reconfiguring it for another buildBuilders aged 8+ who want an affordable, screen-free solar project and enjoy rebuilding one parts set into different machines
Recommended age8+8+
Pieces / project size190, manufacturer specification212 in the specification block; a lower promotional panel conflicts and says fewer than 100
Build options12-in-1, manufacturer product name15 forms, manufacturer listing
Controls / powerSolar and battery; battery type and inclusion are not specified in the checked detailsSolar and battery; battery type and inclusion are not stated in the product details checked
Price snapshot$24.99 listed → estimated $23.74 if code CURRENT applies$27.99 listed → estimated $26.59 if code CURRENT applies
Check firstThe twelve configurations reuse one parts set; they are not twelve assembled robots at once.The product’s main specifications say 212 pieces, but a lower feature panel says fewer than 100. Confirm the kit contents if piece count affects your decision.

Both are hands-on projects for a similar age range

Sillbird recommends both kits for ages 8+ and estimates one to two hours for assembly. Each suits a child who enjoys building before playing and can follow a multi-step instruction set. The parts are reused across alternate configurations, so a new model means taking apart the first build. These are one-kit construction activities, not collections of finished robots.

R121 has the simpler specification and lower price

The R121 lists 190 pieces and twelve forms at $24.99. The R218 advertises fifteen forms at $27.99, but its product page conflicts on piece count: the main specification block lists 212 while a lower feature panel says fewer than 100. The R121 is the easier value choice when the listed configuration count is enough; the R218 may suit a builder who values the extra advertised forms after confirming the contents.

Check the battery details before planning indoor play

Both product pages list solar and battery-powered operation. The R121 page does not identify the battery type or say whether one is included; the checked R218 details leave those points unspecified too. Sillbird suggests strong artificial light for indoor solar play with R121, but does not state a minimum light level. Ask the store about the exact package if batteries or reliable indoor use are part of the decision.

Compare conditional code estimates

On October 21, 2026, the official US feeds listed the R121 at $24.99 and R218 at $27.99. Sillbird’s partner program reports code CURRENT for 5% off, making conditional estimates of $23.74 and $26.59 if it applies to each exact model and current price. Eligibility, exclusions, stacking and checkout are unverified. Use the Sillbird homepage referral link, find the chosen kit there and confirm the final cart total.

Sources

We checked the exact regional product listings on October 21, 2026: Sillbird STEM Solar Robot R121 and Sillbird STEM Solar Robot R218. Product information and offer estimates can change; confirm the live listing and final cart total.

Find your next robot.

Search product reviews and buying guides.